Login   Sign Up 


Asham Award (Competitions)

Search WriteWords Directory

Address:Endowment Administrator,
The Asham Trust,
Town Hall,
High Street,
East Sussex,
  Web site : http://www.ashamaward.com/
Email : Not available

Keywords associated with this entry :
fiction, short, stories, women, new, writing

Useful Information :
'The Asham Award was set up by the Asham Literary Endowment trust in 1995 to encourage and promote new writing. It is open to women over 18 of any nationality, provided they are resident in the United Kingdom and have not previously had a novel or a book of short stories published. The prize money totals over £3,000. There is no set theme.

It is the only short story competition whose winners and runners-up are published alongside some of our best known women writers. Past collections have included specially commissioned stories by Carol Shields, Michèle Roberts, Barbara Trapido, Patricia Duncker, Helen Simpson, Helen Dunmore, Deborah Moggach. Margaret Atwood and A.L. Kennedy. Between 700 and 950 writers enter each Asham award.

The prize is offered every two years.'

Pageviews: 7394

Comments on this directory entry

0 COMMENTS by WriteWords Members on this entry.

Member comments are only available to WriteWords members.
Click here for more info.

Last checked: 09/10/2017

We are unable to investigate the claims, professional status, or probity of any individual, organization or company listed in the WriteWords Writers' Directory. The presence of a listing in the WriteWords Directory does not imply an endorsement of the products or services offered. Whilst every effort is made to ensure the accuracy of the Directory, WriteWords does not assume, and hereby disclaims any liability to any party for loss or damage of any kind caused by errors or omissions from the Directory.