Login   Sign Up 

This 17 message thread spans 2 pages: 1  2  > >  
  • Writing around life, not about it...
    by utherdragonpen at 01:49 on 29 July 2013
    Hi all

Just joined on the recommendation of an acquaintance, got the months free to start (watch the pennies and all that), loving it so far!

I have a quick question about a long term problem. I've been working on the same project for 8 years, on and off. One of the main problems is 'life'. Every time I try and write, something gets in the way. I don't have a great memory and I'm easily thrown off track.. it can be something as simple as a phone call, or my neighbour landing unannounced (one seven week period, EVERY time I started writing, she rang the doorbell within 15 minutes!). I have various health issues, and regularly one hits as I'm just getting into my writing stride. It's gotten so I have a major hang-up...I'm fearful of starting, as I fully expect to be interrupted, and I know that once interrupted it can take days, sometimes weeks if it's a MAJOR interruption to get back into it. So, how do I write when I can't guarantee peace? I don't have any 'safe haven' (to quote Aladdins genie, 'believe me, I know. I've looked'.), and it's become a real issue. Thanks in advance for any thoughts.
  • Re: Writing around life, not about it...
    by Terry Edge at 10:31 on 29 July 2013
    Dorothea Brande's book, On Becoming a Writer, provides some very good solutions to what you're experiencing.
    by EmmaD at 10:48 on 29 July 2013
    Yes, Brande is absolutely brilliant on that stuff.

I think, though, you have to decide first that the writing comes higher up your list of priorities. That's easy to think, until you realise that it means shoving some other things - especially other people's things - further down. It means putting yourself first, not other people. That's what creativity needs.