Login   Sign Up 

• Hey everyone!
    by LindaGraver at 18:54 on 24 August 2013
    Hello! I'm a newbie to this site, these forums and writing! I have been an avid reader since I was a child, and can easily devour an entire novel in a day. My favourite authors so far have been Anne McCaffery (May she RIP), Martin Middleton, David Eddings, Raymond E. Feist and Frank Peretti. I also quite enjoy Francine Rivers and occasionally, when the mood takes me, Danielle Steel. Actually, I could probably add quite a few authors to that short list.

I have never written a novel or even a short story before, apart from whatever is required in school, of which I don't remember, however I've had an idea rattling around in my head for some time now, and thought it is probably time I do something about it.

I admit I have no idea what I'm doing. Completely and utterly new at this. I have so far written about 4000 words, but I don't really have a plan at the moment. I'm writing out of the overflow of my own creativity. I decided to become a trial member here just to see what kinds of things are on offer for newbies such as myself, and get some tips on how to progress and improve.

I'd appreciate any advice and tips anyone has to give!
  • Re: Hey everyone!
    by Account Closed at 19:28 on 24 August 2013
    Welcome to WriteWords.

Everyone has to start somewhere and four thousand words is fantastic.

What is your genre? I see your favourite reading genre is Fantasy and Sci-fi (I've read David Eddings and Raymond E Feist - love The Magician as its my favourite book - but my favourite author is Terry Brooks).

My favourite genres are Sci-Fi Fantasy and Historical but I write women's fiction/women in jeopardy.

I guess I'd say keep writing, keep reading and then learn some of the technical aspects of creative writing. WW has some great critique groups, advice on the technical aspects on writing and is brilliant for support, so make the most of all the fab people here.

Good luck