Login   Sign Up 

• Macbeth on BBC4, Sunday 12th December 2010
    by hopper2607 at 13:14 on 13 December 2010
    Hi,

I'm a complete novice as far as Shakespeare goes, but the BBC4 version with Patrick Stewart on Sunday pushed me back into my chair with an iron fist and prevented me from getting up again until the credits were rolling.

I didn't find it easy to follow the dialogue, but this didn't stop my enjoyment. Also, I could appreciate the drama in the language.

The three witches managed to be horrific without any use of make-up. The horror came from what I think was some electronic trickery done at times with their voices, and with the unnatural way they moved sometimes. Particularly, when they were in a morgue using dead bodies to speak their words to Macbeth.

What do Shakespeare fans here think? Is this sort of interpretation, setting it in today's world, regarded as dumbing-down?

I missed the first half hour, hope it will be repeated. Or released on DVD. It is something I could watch over and over, and a DVD could feature extras to educate the likes of me on Shakespeare's use of language.

Cheers,
    Andy

PS Over 30 years ago now, but I do remember being one of the assassins when we were reading the play out in class. Remember the line 'We have lost best part of our affair,' or something similar. It was my only line and I fluffed it somehow, reducing the class to laughter as I wished the ground would open up.

• Re: Macbeth on BBC4, Sunday 12th December 2010
    by Steerpike`s sister at 14:53 on 13 December 2010
    I caught the end of it, and enjoyed what I saw. My mum didn't like it though, she says she doesn't like modern-dress versions of Shakespeare. But she is not exactly an expert!
    by cherys at 09:24 on 14 December 2010