Login   Sign Up 

• Q and A with Nichola Charalambou, Creative Writes
    by Anna Reynolds at 09:57 on 10 February 2011
    What have you written and what are you writing now?

I have been writing creatively for several years and my main passion is poetry and poetic prose. I self-published 2 books a few years ago, as part of a team of writers. I also used to review and assess London theatre, for theatre magazines, local newspapers and the Arts Council.

Do you have a day job?

I run Creative Writes - creative writing workshops. I set up the workshops over two years ago. My regular base is in Muswell Hill, North London – at a beautiful Victorian estate, where we work in an oak panelled room overlooking stunning gardens.

This year Creative Writes has also started to work with two new venues – the Fernandez & Leluu Supper Club in London Fields, E8 and Beetroot Deli – a polish Deli & café in Hampstead, NW3.

I have run guest workshops which have included; Tower Hamlets for a parents group, London Underground for their staff with dyslexia and at a writer’s group in Bishop Stortford.

Creative Writes workshops are small & supportive - I do not take any more than 10 people on each workshop. This is to enable everyone to develop at their own pace, with my support. I adapt the work to suit their needs.

The content in the workshops includes short story, poetry, character work and language games. We work as a group, in pairs and individually. Free flow writing is used as a foundation. Personal stories are often used as a starting point.