Login   Sign Up 

• Wordpress et al
    by Desormais at 15:17 on 16 February 2011
    I'd like to have a facility where, when I have to produce a bio for ezines, I can just refer to a personal blog/website where information about previous work published can be collated, together with any other information I would like to put in the public domain. I'm not the world's most patient person when it comes to technology, though I'm not a duffer (I would say.)

Has anybody used Wordpress, which is getting a reasonable write-up in this month's Writing Magazine? Any alternatives to recommend?

Sandra
  • Re: Wordpress et al
    by Account Closed at 23:22 on 16 February 2011
    I use wordpress, and it isn't difficult. Blogger is easier. I'm not a duffer either, but I started as a complete beginner and am self taught. You'll be able to work out wordpress on your own and there's loads you can do with it. But blogger is catching up and the dashboard is a bit simpler. It also integrates very nicely with google and the rest of the google apps, which might be important to you.

However, editors of magazines, print or online, would not (in my experience) appreciate being given a link to a blog when they ask for some bio. In many ways, bio should be tailored to the publication - some like it fulsome and academic, some like it short and quirky - they all have different length requirements and you'll want to emphasise different aspects depending on your target audience.

So while I think blogging and websites are brilliant ideas generally (and I have a fairly comprehensive bio on mine) it isn't ever going to get you out of the task of providing bio.

J
    by Desormais at 18:08 on 17 February 2011
    Thanks for responding J.

I wasn't thinking of substituting the webpage for a bio, just using to to enable anyone interested to see more of my published work, all in one place instead of being referred to different sources.