Login   Sign Up 

• What`s your good writerly thing of 2012?
    by EmmaD at 11:00 on 18 December 2012
    So, over in Private Members, someone started a thread for all the positive things that have happened to WWers over the last year, and it's so lovely I thought I'd post the list here. And I do hope that people will add their own out here.

I only collected one thing per member into this post, except for the WWer who's coped and written so astonishingly well, while having a baby and a bereavement, that I couldn't help putting in more. But most in the original thread posted at least two or three. (bold and italics are only for ease of reading...)

------------------------------------------------------

For me, I feel I have mananged to improve regarding pov and voice.

I think I think about writing more - I'm not technical at all, but I do find myself more on the look-out for pov stuff now.

I've worked so hard on the technique and grammar and now I'm learning to let go.

Mine is getting an email from a boy reader who loved my book Cracks.... Makes me glow every time I look at it.

My biggest one was to write book six after the pain and torture that was book five. I really didn't want to and yet I did it. And it's not half bad.

getting several dozen emails from young people studying one of my plays for their drama exams and saying how much they loved the words.

I used to enjoy writing about as much as filling out my tax return. Couldn't understand why people said they loved it and longed to get back to it when forced to do others things. Now I do. Long may it last.

I've worked out the writing process that works best for me (at least for my current wip) and this hasn't come directly from anything I've read or tutorial input but was just the result of me trying different things until hitting on the right (for me) balance between planning and spontaneity.

In a couple of weeks time, I will have had two books published in one year.

I'm proud of