Login   Sign Up 

Random Read

• I am being optioned - help!
    by tramsleeper at 09:20 on 08 September 2011
    Hello everyone,

I was a bit confused where to place this so I hope I got the right place.

I am about to sign an option agreement for the development of a TV sitcom. I wrote and filmed a pilot a year ago and I have been trying to get the series sold since. I have had good reviews but not yet a pay cheque - you know the score.

However, a production company are persuading me to sign over 45 percent copyright. For this they will try to get the series made. They have all the contacts basically - many more than me. They already believe they have someone to fund production of 6x26 episodes (season one). All the rights revert back to me after 1 year should nothing happen.

I am giving this away as a free option - as at least there is the hope that the series will be developed and sold. And I retain 55 percent (which isn't too bad I think).

However, I am very new to this game.

I was just wondering if anyone had similar experiences of TV optioning and whether - all things considered - I was doing the right thing?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks P

• Re: I am being optioned - help!
    by EmmaD at 09:37 on 08 September 2011
    Tramsleeper, how exciting, but eek!

I'd suggest getting in touch with the Writers Guild ASAP. The Society of Authors would also be able to help, but WG are more broadcasting and script oriented. I don't know what the joining regs for them are, but I hope they can help.

I've no idea what's the industry norm for this kind of thing, so can't comment - prose writers aren't usually expected to give up their copyright. I can imagine that it's not unusual, and the time-limited aspect is reassuring. But really, really, do get some professional advice...

Emma
    by GaiusCoffey at 09:51 on 08 September 2011
    No specific experience, but a basic business principle; you do not give rights away, you exchange them.