Login   Sign Up 

This 23 message thread spans 2 pages: 1  2  > >  
  • Novel narrated by God?
    by Steerpike`s sister at 18:23 on 29 June 2012
    (Not sure if this is in the right place, but I'm also trying to post outside PMs when possible).

I have an idea for a children's novel which is ostensibly narrated by God. It's very weird and probably won't work but what I'm wondering is: do you think I need to be 'saying something' about God to do that? It's not really about religion, though the plot is, it's more about trying to write metafiction for kids (if you've ever read a book called 'That's Life Lily' by a French writer called Valerie Dayre, that's kind of the sort of idea, though totally different plot).
  • Re: Novel narrated by God?
    by SusieL at 19:56 on 29 June 2012
    I would have thought that in some ways it would be a stronger book if you weren't trying to "say something". But then I'm no expert.

In fact surely it would be more likely to open up minds and discussions if it wasn't?
    by alexhazel at 21:06 on 29 June 2012
    Isn't there a sense in which any novel which uses an identifiable narrator says something about that narrator? The things they choose to narrate, and the way in which they talk about them, will naturally imply something about the narrator. If not, then the narrator wouldn't be an identifiable person but just an omnipresent 'voice' telling the reader something.

Mind you, 'omnipresent' would certainly suit God's voice.
    by GaiusCoffey at 21:20 on 29 June 2012
    I'm having a similar problem with my current WIP that also has God as a major character.

It is almost impossible to mention god without people thinking you are saying something about religion and actually impossible to have God as a character without _actually_ saying something about your thoughts on what God may be - a vengeful god character is going to come across as maybe a tad more petulant (what with all the smiting) than a loving god, for example.