Login   Sign Up 

Random Read

• Copyright in general
    by Nickhorrox at 09:36 on 24 January 2004
    Hi all. I'm new to this writing lark, so forgive my naivete. I'm working on various things at the mo (aren't we all?), screenplay, some comedy sketches and a sitcom. I want to submit some sketches to various production companies but am worried about them simply nicking my ideas and producing them without my knowledge or indeed acknowledging my authorship.

Does anyone have any views on this? How do we protect ourselves as authors? I know the old one about sending oneself something in the post - but I think this is a bit of a myth. Any comments? Any help woukld be gratefully received...
  • Re: Copyright in general
    by Dee at 10:05 on 24 January 2004
    No, Nick, it isn't a myth. Post your work to yourself by special delivery in a tamper-proof envelope and DON'T OPEN IT.
    The idea is that you have a sealed, postmarked copy. The postmark is proof that the work was in existence and in your posession on that date so anyone else claiming it as theirs would have to provide proof that they had an earlier version.

Dee.
    by Jubbly at 10:09 on 24 January 2004
    Remember you can't copyright an idea. There is no proof that they were inspired by your initial work, no matter what you say. I know this first hand, but obviously if it's word for word you've got a case.

Jubbly
    by Anna Reynolds at 11:38 on 24 January 2004
    The Script Factory have the answer- a Script Registration Service. Have a look at Script Factory - they're an excellent resource for screenwriters full stop. As Julie says, you can't copyright ideas, so you have to grow a thick-ish skin, and protect what you can.
    by Dee at 14:33 on 24 January 2004