Login   Sign Up 

• Another historical research question
    by Steerpike`s sister at 12:37 on 08 July 2012
    It's still 1799. Is it likely that a young gentleman - not titled, more of a long-established country family, well off, in the navy - would have to forefeit his inheritance if he married a Catholic? I am guessing the answer is yes.
  • Re: Another historical research question
    by Account Closed at 12:46 on 08 July 2012
    What are the circumstances? Would she convert or allow their children to be raised C of E, or would he have to convert?

I'm no expert, but I think it's unlikely he would HAVE to forfeit his inheritance (particularly if she were not bothered about having the children raised outside the faith) but you could always give him super strict parents if you wanted it to be a plot point.

I think the key point would probably over whether he proposed to convert - I can't remember the specifics but I think it was difficult for a Catholic to take the oaths of allegiance in the Navy...? That could be rubbish though. I can't 100% remember!
    by Steerpike`s sister at 12:50 on 08 July 2012
    I want to put difficulties in their way, so I can make her unwilling to give up her faith and him equally so.
    by Account Closed at 13:14 on 08 July 2012
    I just checked Patrick O'Brian (I know - I know - but he's generally pretty sound) and I think the Navy could be a good stumbling block if you wanted one - she could refuse to allow any children to be raised Protestant and he could be determined that his sons would go into the Navy, and at that time you had to swear an oath renouncing the Pope when you passed for a Lieutenant.
    by Account Closed at 13:16 on 08 July 2012
    I mean I realise they're not yet married, but it's the sort of thing his people would ask as soon as they knew she was Catholic.
    by EmmaD at 13:28 on 08 July 2012