Login   Sign Up 

Random Read

• Agent - unusual behaviour?
    by MartinM at 18:42 on 28 April 2004
    Hi all.

Today I got a rejection from an agent, who nevertheless suggests a number of published who might be interested in my book.

Should I read anything into this? All the best advice says that authors have next to no chance of getting published if they go to publishers direct, so should I submit to them on the agent's advice? And if I do, am I bound to return to the agent (I suspect the answer is no).

But - is it in my interests to then ask that agent, or another, to represent me? I have no experience of negotiating with publishers.
  • Re: Agent - unusual behaviour?
    by word`s worth at 22:17 on 28 April 2004
    Martin

It is rather unusual for an agent to reject you but in the same breath recommend publishers who might be interested in publishing your work. It may be that the agent can't take on any more writers, but knows publishers who are looking for the sort of story you've written.

I don't see any harm in approaching a publisher (from the agent's list) even mentioning the agent and saying that they recommended them to you, and if the publisher is interested then, I think, the task of getting an agent to represent you is made easier. I personally wouldn't know where to start with negotiations with a publisher and that's why I would find an agent useful. But as I say, once you have the deal, then the agents will see you in a new light.

This is just the opinion of an unpublished, unrepresented writer. There are others more experienced than me who might advise you differently, but I thought I would reply to your query as it seemed to have slipped down the forum.

Nahed
    by Account Closed at 10:26 on 29 April 2004
    Yes, I'd say it was worth a shot. You've got to use every thing available to you in this business, and I think its fair to say you have a recommendation...

Go for it.

James x
    by Al T at 10:48 on 29 April 2004