Login   Sign Up 

Random Read

• Elections, connections. Network your way to the top?
    by Silverelli at 14:55 on 04 May 2004
    This the first serious thread that I've submitted. Please bare with me.

Last night, I found a novel that a friend of mine had left at my place. The novel is Normal Girl by Molly Jung-Fast, daughter of Erica jung and Jonathon Swift. Her novel was published I think when she was twenty years old. I began to read it and thought to myself "Why?" after I realized I was thoroughly unimpressed, "would this have ever gotten published if it wasn't for her mummy and daddy being famous writers and having all the connection she's got in the publishing world."

And then I was reminded of my high school I attended. A politically influenced private school in the DC Suburbs that breeds Future CEOs and Future Congessman. Heck, A few kids I graduated with had Senator Fathers.
    I remembered how indirectly I was taught to use the people and resources around you and be sure to repay the favor when you become a power to reckon with. Trading favors we called this. It's a very tight net and everyone has each others backs. Believe it or not, for the most part, this is how politics works in the U.S.

My questions is:is the publishing world the same way? Is it necessary to have "connections" to get published and be promoted effectively? Do I need to start befriending "all the right people"?

F'ed up as this may sound, let's face it.
    Isn't it not enough to just send out our work to slush piles and hope we hit the lotto. Don't we need someone to push our work that has their hand already in the inside?

Feedback is appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Adam
  • Re: Elections, connections. Network your way to the top?
    by Account Closed at 15:09 on 04 May 2004
    Life is a lottery, unless someone can tell you the numbers.