Login   Sign Up 

Random Read

• Sending a TV drama script to the BBC
    by Account Closed at 21:34 on 25 April 2010
    Hi! I'm rather new to the step of actually submitting a finished work so please bear with me.

I'm not a full time writer but I did write a 100K word novel as part of NaNoWriMo last year and I'm becoming increasingly keen to spend more time writing and improving my writing skills.

I took part in Script Frenzy this year and managed to put together a 110 page TV drama script. I've just done a second draft polish and I'm soliciting feedback from a couple of friends. However ultimately I'd like to have a go at submitting it to the BBC Writersroom to see what they think.

Has anybody done anything like this before?

Does anybody have any advice on what I should to to polish up the script before submitting it?

Thanks!!
  • Re: Sending a TV drama script to the BBC
    by NMott at 22:46 on 25 April 2010
    Just checked out the BBC writersroom submission guidelines.

How to submit a film to BBC writersroom:

•send in a complete, full-length screenplay, very clearly laid out and typed
    •send in a covering letter and CV
    •a brief synopsis may be requested later if a script progresses well
    •detailed treatments for scripts will NOT be accepted

Seems pretty straight forward. Not sure what to add except Good luck.

- NaomiM
    by Account Closed at 23:01 on 26 April 2010
    Thanks Naomi!

Any thoughts on what should be in the CV? I looked on the site and it wasn't clear. I assume that a short writing-specific CV is what they want rather than a detailed history of your professional career?

Actually, am I right in thinking that I should maintain a writing-specific CV anyway for when sending in submissions to agents?
    by NMott at 23:21 on 26 April 2010
    Yes, you're right, they want a writing-specific CV. Don't feel you have to fill it with something/anything, if it's short & sweet then so be it.

- NaomiM