Login   Sign Up 

• I`m signed up.
    by Dee at 09:14 on 15 November 2003
    Hi gang,
    I met my agent yesterday and we've signed an agreement. It's a very strange feeling so I thought I'd share it with you all.
    It's an enormous relief to have someone in the business on my side, working for me, who believes my work is publishable. At the same time - and this is the thing I hadn't anticipated - I now feel as if I'm writing FOR him. I've been writing seriously for less than three years and in that time my overwhelming ambition has been to see my work published. That hasn't changed but I realise that until now, I've been writing what I wanted to write. Now I find I have a little devil sitting on my shoulder whispering in my ear, 'I don't think he'll like that... no you can't write that...' I'm sure I'll get used to it but, like I said, it's a very strange feeling.
    I'm stepping into what is, for me, unknown territory here. If anyone is interested in the processes that follow, let me know and I'll keep you posted.
    Cheers,
    Dee.
  • Re: I`m signed up.
    by Nell at 09:34 on 15 November 2003
    Well done Dee, and do please keep us posted. Fingers crossed for a huge advance!
    by Hilary at 10:15 on 15 November 2003
    I hope you do keep us posted,Dee.

It will be not only useful hearing aobut your experiences but motivating as well!

It's great when people actually succeed after lots of hard work; and besides, I think those who do should be allowed to enjoy the experience, not just the financial returns ( although I hope there's loads of that too!)

Funny what you were saying about people looking over you shoulder, I became a driving instructor so I could be my own boss and be more creative...only now, I'm afraid Big Brother is invading us more and more!

Maybe that's why I've decided to persue the writing more, but from what you say about agents???

Hilary.
    by Account Closed at 12:10 on 15 November 2003