Login   Sign Up 

Random Read

This 18 message thread spans 2 pages:  < <   1  2 
  • Re: The RICHARD & JUDY Novel Prize
    by Al T at 18:36 on 26 February 2005
    Jane that doesn't sound harsh at all. We've had a few robust debates about criticism on this forum, but I totally agree that getting feedback from trusted readers is essential. As for baddies lurking in cyberspace, I used to be an internet analyst, which may explain my paranoia.

Okay, I'm going to switch my brain off and Meet the Fockers.

Have a good evening,

Adele.
    by old friend at 10:34 on 27 February 2005
    Adele and Jane,

You both make sense; it is a matter of acceptance and caution. People will pinch ideas. Jane, I too, have had a great deal of experience in the publishing field and I agree that this is not something high on the 'worry' list but it does happen and, like cockroaches in a dirty kitchen, you'll never get rid of the problem.

You may also be right when you refer to there being more stealing in Cyberspace but -what the heck - it can be annoying I guess but there is almost nothing that you can do about it. My main aim in writing is not 'being published' and perhaps I would like to think that some of my work may well be good enough to appear under someone else's name. I would be flattered... if I caught them they may well be 'flattened'! They should have asked and they haven't paid!.

A good writer takes risks with his/her words and should take risks with completed works.

I have also known a lady who has written stories for Children for quite a few years but has never overcome the embarrassment she would feel if another pair of eyes fell upon her precious manuscripts. Such a pity.

Len

by Al T at 10:46 on 27 February 2005