Login   Sign Up 

This 100 message thread spans 7 pages:  < <   1  2  3   4   5   6   7  > >  
  • Re: The Curious Incident of the Book with no Metaphors
    by Colin-M at 21:42 on 12 December 2004
    I used to work in the computer games industry. At one point I worked on a gothic horror game and in the early stages of development we were encouraged to research some fairly grim subjects; some violent, some fetish and a lot of dark stuff like voodoo, satanism, occultism, demonology. The idea was to submerge ourselves in a sesspool of dabauchery in the hope that this would filter through to the final game without being overt. Our creative gury considered this an important part of the design process.

Another thing to add here. Although a lot of the things we looked at would be considered "sick" in most circles of conversation - we didn't half piss ourselves laughing at some of it. I mean, why the hell would someone want to pierce themselves like that???

Colin M
    by Nell at 07:50 on 13 December 2004
    This hunger to know more about authors who've written books that we love is an odd thing. The book is complete in and of itself, initially the author is only present as the creator of the story and the arrangement of the words. It's far more understandable to want to know more about a film star or musician because we see them creating their magic. Has it always been like this or is the cult of the author a recent phenonenom encouraged by publishers and publicists in order to sell books? And supposing a person with nil charisma and conversation skills (someone pathologically shy perhaps) wrote a stunning novel but was unable to go along with the publicity and hype needed to promote the book, would that mean it wasn't taken up? J.D. Salinger got away with it, and created a mythos all his own, but that was then and times have changed. Re. Mark Haddon and his crass remark I can't be the only one so upset by it that I'll never read anything he ever writes.

Nell.