Login   Sign Up 

Random Read

This 25 message thread spans 2 pages:  < <   1  2 > >  
  • Re: One of those sentences
    by Account Closed at 20:55 on 19 January 2013
    by AlanH at 10:08 on 20 January 2013
    Thank you, Emma. That is an excellent link. I try not to use 'she noticed' etc but I'll check for similar instances and see what can be undertaken instead.

Seconded.
    by Astrea at 10:54 on 20 January 2013
    [quote]Did he leave people with very few teeth? Or is there another meaning to this expression? {/quote]

Sorry to butt in so tardily, but I think I'm with Terry - don't think 'unexpectant' feels right. Which is not a desperately helpful comment, is it, because I'm not technical and can't pin down why.

All I can say is, if I'd written it, I would keep coming back to it because it would bug me. For me, it draws the attention to the word itself rather than to the implication.
    by AlanH at 11:47 on 20 January 2013
    All I can say is, if I'd written it, I would keep coming back to it because it would bug me

Me too, over and over and over and over again.
    And sometimes, maybe like Sharley, I become so attached to a particular word, because I think it seems perfect, that I try to build a sentence around it.
    Yes, I know. I know.
    by Terry Edge at 11:58 on 20 January 2013
    One of the problems is that unexpectant doesn't appear to be a recognised word, or at least it isn't commonly used; which may be part of the reason it snags in a lot of people's minds.
    by Astrea at 12:51 on 20 January 2013
    Yes, that's it exactly - expectant/ly would be fine (obviously not in this context, but as a word it would be fine), but unexpectant doesn't seem to work in the same way.
    by chris2 at 12:56 on 20 January 2013
    I'm still in favour of 'unexpectant' and I think it does add something to the sentence. The fact that he hung back doesn't of itself mean that, when he did speak, it would necessarily be in a manner that foresaw refusal.