Login   Sign Up 

Random Read

• Present tense - talk me out of it...
    by J.Svard at 12:20 on 23 January 2004

Hi all - my first post.

When I write I tend to write in first person, present tense. It all just comes very natural for me. Is there anything I should consider when writing i present tense?
    Or should I maybe not do that at all?

I'm a Swedish writer, and there seems to be very few if any books written by Swedes in present tense. So maybe publishers will think it's too much "Bret Easton Ellis" (a big seller here in Sweden)?

So, a few questions about present tense there - and forgive me for asking in a forum that is non-native to me, but I've yet to find any Swedish forums. And forgive any misstakes with my English.

/Joakim
  • Re: Present tense - talk me out of it...
    by Dee at 16:21 on 23 January 2004
    Hi Joakim and welcome to WW.

It's the quality of your writing which is most relevant. get that right and the tense/POV won't matter.

Perhaps you could upload a sample for us to read?

Dee.
    by Daisy at 16:46 on 23 January 2004
    Great idea dee - tell me, how good is your swedish

I agree with Dee, I think writing in the present tense can be fabulous when done well. In my opinion it is harder - showing the passage of time and suchlike isn't so straightforward. But if it works for you, then go for it.
    by word`s worth at 17:05 on 23 January 2004
    Joakim hello,

Your English is bra! (erm...that's 'good' in Swedish ya? I hope it is!) For a start it'll be a whole lot better than my Swedish...welcome to WW!

I agree with Dee, it's the quality of your work and the story you're telling that determines whether it's enjoyable to read regardless of what tense you use. I too say, upload some of your work, it'll be easier to give you more accurate advice ).

Come on in...the water is lovely!

Nahed
    by Dee at 21:46 on 23 January 2004
    Jag kan inte tala Svenska