Login   Sign Up 

• THE COWARD’S TALE by Vanessa Gebbie
    by Becca at 08:35 on 06 January 2012
    The Coward's Tale was published by Bloomsbury in November 2011. It's the kind of book you might steal away to a quiet place to read, it isn’t one that you’d pick up and put down casually if something else happened to catch your attention while the book was in your hands. I’ve never read anything quite like it. It’s described as a novel and I’ve also seen it referred to as an ‘epic.’ I don’t think either of those words do it any justice. I’m not very good at reading novels, I can do it, and I’ve got a strong enough sense of duty to even finish a few of them from time to time. However, reading The Coward’s Tale is not like reading a novel at all where one remains conscious of chapters, pages, page numbers, the spine of the book, noises beyond, it’s more like stepping into a carefully constructed other reality where you can share the same air as the characters for a while – stand with the cinema-goers and listen to Ianto the beggar telling a story about someone in the town who behaves for the most part quite normally except for one small eccentricity – before your living life forces you to close the book and attend to other matters. Sometimes those other matters in your own life seem rather petty compared to what is going on in Ianto’s world, then on the other hand, certain small things in your own life that you paid little attention to a while back seem now to glow slightly and take on a different meaning.